Chorley All Saints Church Of England Primary School And Nursery Unit

Love to Learn, Together with the Lord

Governor Information

School Governors

The purpose of governance is to provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance

Here is a list of our School Governors their appointing body and their positions.

Brian Souter                            Chair of Governors

Father Edmund Straszak         Incumbent/Chair of Resources Committee

Jeanette Seddon                      Foundation

Christine Ireland                       Foundation

Kath Hayes                               Foundation

Shirley Starkey                         Foundation

Gwen Barnes                            Staff

Heather Horne                          Parent

Vacancy                                    Parent

Liz Fletcher                               Associate/Chair of Curriculum Committee

Charlotte Ward                          Local Authority

Andy Pearson                           Foundation

Sarah Partington                       Headteacher


 The different categories of governors on our governing body are:

  • parent governors who have a child in school at the time of their election, and are elected by the parents with children at the school;
  • staff governors who are members of staff at the school and are elected by their colleagues;
  • foundation governors are appointed on to the governing body by Blackburn Diocesan Board of Education via nomination by All Saints' CE Church PCC;
  • local authority (LA) governors who are nominated by the local councillor and appointed by the governing body;
  • the Headteacher (HT) is also a member of the governing body by right of the position they hold in the school;
  • associate members are not actually governors but can be appointed to serve on committees and attend meetings of the full governing body. They do not have the right to vote at meetings of the full governing body but may been given voting rights on the committees that they are a member of, but these rights can only be given by the governing body.


The different committees our governing body has are:

  • There are also separate disciplinary and appeals committees which are convened if they are required.


 Resources Committee:

 Father Straszak (Chair)

 Mr B Souter

 Mrs J Seddon

 Mrs C Ireland

 Mrs K Hayes

 Mrs S Starkey

 Mrs G Barnes

 Mrs H Horne 

 Mrs L Fletcher

 Mr A Pearson

 Mrs S Partington



Curriculum Committee:

 Mrs L Fletcher (Chair)

 Mrs B Souter

 Mrs K Hayes

 Mrs G Barnes

 Mrs S Starkey

 Mrs H Horne

 Mr A Pearson

 Mrs C Ward

Mrs S Partington




School also has some nominated governors who take on specialist roles on behalf of the Governing Body

Details of the role of the Governors can be found using this link

 Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests

 All the governors listed have signed the Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests. This is a declaration of any personal or business interest they or any relative or person closely connected with them, have with businesses or other organisations that may have dealings with the school.

Attendance at meetings of the Governing Body for the last twelve months are also detailed.